Genie Discord forum

Author AvatarMish_
10/17/2023, 7:51:30 AM

Hi!

I am quite new to Julia and this is my first time using Genie. So far I quite like it, but I am struggling with something at the moment. I want to use structs in my app, but I am encountering some unexpected behavior in the reactivity/communication of objects between the back-end and the UI. I included a simple example to illustrate my problem. I created a testDict and a testStruct containing an x and y variable. The UI has a button that increments both xs in the UI and a button that increments both ys in the back-end. Some observations:

1. The @onchange for incrementing x is triggered on the testDict, but not on the testStruct
  2. Incrementing y is not communicated to the UI for either testDict or testStruct

I didn't find any up-to-date examples on this using the ReactiveTools API, so decided to post here. Any ideas on how to get this to work? Is this even supported?

using GenieFramework
@genietools

mutable struct demo
    x::Number
    y::Number
end

@app begin
    @in testDict = Dict("x" => 1, "y" => 2)
    @in testStruct = demo(1, 2)
    @event :printtest begin
        @show testDict
        @show testStruct
    end
    @event :incrementy begin
        testDict["y"] += 1
        testStruct.y += 1
    end
    @onchange testDict begin
        @show testDict
    end
    @onchange testStruct begin
        @show testStruct
    end
end

function ui()
    [
        row([p("Dict:{{testDict}}")]),
        row([p("Struct:{{testStruct}}")]),
        row([
            btn("Increment X", @on("click", "testDict.x++; testStruct.x++")),
            btn("Increment Y", @on("click", :incrementy)),
            btn("Show in console", @on("click", :printtest)),
        ])
    ]
end

@page("/", ui)

up()
Author AvatarPere
10/17/2023, 1:47:00 PM